North Carolina AVAs

North Carolina AVAs

North Carolina has six American Viticultural Areas (AVAs), four of which are entirely within the state's borders:

  • Haw River Valley
  • Crest of the Blue Ridge Henderson County
  • Swan Creek
  • Yadkin Valley

The other two AVAs are shared with adjacent states:

  • Appalachian High Country (Tennessee and Virginia)
  • Upper Hiwassee Highlands (Georgia)

AVAs are delimited wine growing areas in the United States administered under the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, U.S. Department of the Treasury. Think of AVAs in the U.S. as appellations are in other countries, for example appellation d'origine contrôlée (AOC) in France. In order for an AVA name to appear on a U.S. wine label, no less than 85% of the wine's volume must come from grapes that were sourced from within the AVA's boundaries.