Pennsylvania AVAs

Pennsylvania AVAs
Pennsylvania has five American Viticultural Areas (AVAs), two of which are entirely within the state's borders:
  • Lancaster Valley
  • Lehigh Valley

The other three AVAs are shared with adjacent states:

  • Central Delaware Valley (New Jersey)
  • Cumberland Valley (Maryland)
  • Lake Erie (New York, Ohio)

AVAs are delimited wine growing areas in the United States administered under the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, U.S. Department of the Treasury. Think of AVAs in the U.S. as appellations are in other countries, for example appellation d'origine contrôlée (AOC) in France. In order for an AVA name to appear on a U.S. wine label, no less than 85% of the wine's volume must come from grapes that were sourced from within the AVA's boundaries.