Virginia AVAs

Virginia AVAs

Virginia has nine American Viticultural Areas (AVAs), seven of which are entirely within the state's borders:

  • Middleburg Virginia
  • Monticello
  • Northern Neck George Washington Birthplace
  • Virginia's Eastern Shore
  • Virginia Peninsula
  • North Fork of Roanoke
  • Rocky Knob

The other two AVAs are shared with adjacent states:

  • Shenandoah Valley (West Virginia)
  • Appalachian High Country (North Carolina, Tennessee)

AVAs are delimited wine growing areas in the United States administered under the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau, U.S. Department of the Treasury. Think of AVAs in the U.S. as appellations are in other countries, for example appellation d'origine contrôlée (AOC) in France. In order for an AVA name to appear on a U.S. wine label, no less than 85% of the wine's volume must come from grapes that were sourced from within the AVA's boundaries.